Notary Learning Center


1 800 909 9003




THE NOTARY'S STORE Link on TNS website


red line

Tell A Friend
Tell A Friend

white spacerState of New Hampshire PictureBecome a Notary

red line

    State of New Hampshire
Select Another State  
Becoming a Notary Public has never been easier. All of your State's Contact Information is listed for your reference and review. Scroll down and you will find your State's Qualifications and easy to follow Application Procedures.

Thanks for allowing the Notary Learning Center to help you in becoming a Notary Public.

Because the qualifications and requirements are different for each state, use the "Select another State" menu above for information specific to becoming a Notary Public in that State.

Contact Information:

State Contact: Office of the Secretary of State
Appointing Authority: Governor or Executive Council

Department of State
State House - Room 204
Concord, NH 03301

Telephone: 603-271-3242


Applicants for the office of notary public must meet the following criteria:

  • You must be at least 18 years of age.
  • Every person applying to become a notary public must be a resident of New Hampshire.
  • The applicant must sign a written statement under oath as to whether he/she has ever been convicted of a crime that has not been annulled by a court, other than minor traffic violations.
  • Two notaries public and one registered voter of New Hampshire must endorse the application for appointment.
  • The applicant must complete a State Police Records Check Form.

Term of Office
5 years

Governor and Executive Council

Notary Education
Recommended-not required

Notary Exam
Not required

Study Course
"Notary Public Education Course"
FREE when you purchase a Notary Supply Package at The Notary's Store

Not required by state law

Seal of Office
Rubber Stamp Seal with reproducible ink required by state law, or Embossing Seal

Notary Journal
Officially recommended by the state

E & O insurance
Not required - Errors and Omissions Insurance is recommended for notary protection

Application Procedures

Step 1: Download and complete the Application and Criminal Release Forms

New Application and Criminal Records Release Form

Complete the application and the State Police Records Check Form and return them both to the office of the Secretary of State with the fee of $75.00. Make check payable to "Treasurer, State of New Hampshire".

It will take 8-10 weeks for your application to be processed.

Step 2: Sign and take your Oath of Office

Within a week after appointment by the Governor and Executive Council you will receive your commission, oath, index card and other information from the Secretary of State's Office. You will then need to sign and take your Oath of Office in the presence of two notaries public OR two Justices of the Peace OR one notary public and one Justice of the Peace. Those who sign your oath should also sign your commission. Return the oath to the Secretary of State's Office as soon as possible, also sign the index card as required and mail to the Superior Court of the county in which you reside.

New and Renewing Notary Packages
New and Renewing Notary Packages
Renewing Notary Packages do not come with a notary journal

Step 3: Order your Notary Seal and any other supplies from The Notary's Store

Please visit The Notary's Store you will be entering the New Hampshire section for your official notary supplies. We offer a New Notary Supply Package and a Renewing Notary Supply Package which include your required New Hampshire Notary Seal/Stamp, New Hampshire Notary Journal, and other needed notary supplies at a special reduced price. New Hampshire law does not require a notary to keep a record of his/her official acts, but the State officially recommends it. A record book will offer an excellent way of recalling past notarial acts. If a notary is called upon to testify in court, a record book may help establish what actually took place. offered at The Notary's Store, was designed specifically for notaries public. To order, enter the required information and scroll down through the page to locate the notary packages, or you can purchase your required notary supplies separately. Follow the onscreen instructions through checkout and your supplies will be sent to you as soon as your order is processed. Supplies will ship in usually no more than a 2-3 business days. Once you receive your seal and supplies you will be ready to begin your duties as a notary public for the State of New Hampshire.

Note: An Errors and Omissions Insurance Policy is not required by law, but may be purchased as it protects the notary public and pays for any charges the notary might owe for legal fees and costs should the notary be sued.

© 2004- Notary Learning Center, Inc. - All Rights Reserved